Marilyn Oma Anona writes: A love so pure.

Oh how I miss Derrick. Ours was love at first sight.
I was feeling really fly as I walked through with all eyes on me while I proceeded to check in at the Nnamdi Azikiwe international airport Abuja.

You know such days when you look good in an eccentric way and you know it. Compliments were flying from left and right and even centre. The ladies were friendly and the guys too. I checked in and walked to the departure lounge with a guy who was on the same flight with me.

The departure lounge was full just like most Fridays. I ran into a couple of acquaintances and finally found a space to sit while I wait for my flight. And then Derrick emerged!

He walked towards me in such a confident manner, beaming with charming smiles. He was so greatly dressed; nice Tshirt, nice denim and very quality sneakers. I am not into light skinned guys but this one appealed to me.

He came to where I was seated, didn’t say a hello and just proceeded to sit beside me putting in effort to be sure our bodies touched.
I was still shocked when he brought out a packet of chocolates and offered me some still beaming with smiles.

Then he started smiling more and eventually starting laughing out. My heart went out to him and I was Damn sure I had fallen in love with him. I started imagining moments of us together. It would be moments of pure and undiluted bliss.

We started playing , gisting and laughing and soon he was asleep and for the first time, I didn’t see anything wrong with allowing a man rest on my thighs. Soon, his flight was announced and that moment turned out to be one of the most painful moments of my life to my surprise. Derrick was going to leave and a kind of pain I can’t explain till this moment engulfed me.

He also burst into tears and didn’t want to let go of me. I sobbed a little. He was actually in the company of a beautiful young woman and my heart sank as they walked off to board.
I took their number.

I woke up this morning with thoughts of Derrick in my mind.
I love you Derrick.
Derrick is 16 months old, the woman is his mother. I miss them and I am so glad they kept in touch. They sent me a message this morning already.
#omalivingshow
#therightstage
#omathebrand

Leave a Reply

