MARILYN OMA ANONA writes: Great love for cake and the go getter spirit!September 1995. My love for cake is so bad that I am often teased that spirits can get me with just a piece of cake. It’s so bad that when you anger me and order me a cake, I would just forgive and forget😊 (but don’t try to anger me because you think cake will fix it). My mum of blessed memory used to call me akpili Ikwuka. Ikwuka was my grand dad who I learnt had the extreme case of sweet tooth. He loved anything sweet and sugary and was a great lover of meat like myself (laughs out loud). When I was still a kid, in primary school, we had a family friend who used to supply us cakes for snacks at school. Then surprisingly, after 3days or so, she didn’t supply us cakes and mum was giving us wafers with our Ribena instead. I was sad and I asked mum why. She said; “your dad is building and we have to cut down costs, wafers are cheaper but I promise, you will have cake at least once in a week”. I was sad… And I cried but mum was not going to change that decision as she had bought wafers in cartons😑😑😑 Every morning, i made sure I cried just to know if I can get a cake but it didn’t work. My mum was very loving but very firm. I started planning of what to do. My akpili won’t let me rest. We were not allowed to go downstairs let alone go to a neighbour’s and the woman who supplies us cakes used to live like 4 houses away. One day, mum was away and then I sneaked to Nkechi’s mum’s house to order some cakes. On seeing me she was surprised. When did Nonye start allowing you girls out? Well it’s good she is training you to be strong she must not do everything herself. I replied ; “yes ma, my mum said you should give me 5 cup cakes that she will pay you tomorrow. She went in, brought the cakes and gave them to me and I ran back to the house. Foolish child like meπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ I was feeling wise forgetting that soon I will be caught as mama Nkechi would definitely ask for her moneyπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆ I ran and put the cup cakes in my school bag and couldn’t just wait for tomorrow morning so that I would go to school and eat them. Wow! It’s going to be a cake partyπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒ 5 cup cakes all for meπŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹ I got to school the next morning and couldn’t wait for break time to reach to eat my beautiful cakes. Soon it was break I ate one with my Ribena. Lunch time, I decided to eat more cakes instead of my food. I could only eat one and I was disappointed in my self for not being able to eat so much of it. I thought I had missed cake a lot😠😠😠. I gave the remaining cakes to my besties in class. Days passed and I guess mama Nkechi must have been waiting for her money… She came to our house, I saw her entering into our sitting room and I ran away to go and form siesta. Soon my mum came to my room, tapped me and asked me to follow her. Jesus😒😒😒 Mummy, I am sleeping now. She apologised and said mama Nkechi needs to sort out some confusion. Kai😒😒😒 I am in soup I said to myself in my mind and daddy that will support me is not aroundπŸ˜­πŸ˜­πŸ˜­πŸ™ŠπŸ™ŠπŸ™Š I got to the sitting room with my mum and my mum said, “so you mean it’s my little child who came to buy cakes on credit? ” Mama Nkechi said; “yes now, she is the one”. Mum was surprised and asked when and how. She didn’t send me to buy cakes and she doesn’t send us on errands because daddy doesn’t like it so when did I start running false errands? By then I had started crying and foolishly saying, I wanted cake so bad and I didn’t like wafers bla bla bla. Trust mum now, she started Akpili, akpili and ONU sugar will put you into trouble. Have you finished all the food in this house? Akpili Ikwuka, akpili Ndi ABAGANA! Oya enter inside and go and wait for me. I will deal with you today. 😒😒😒 mum I am sorry I said! My mum went on scolding and when she came in, she made me kneel down while preaching to me how what I did is equivalent to stealing and how I will go to hell fire if rapture happens. She said I should ask God for forgiveness (laughs out loud) When dad returned, she narrated the incident to him and trust my dad, he likes to support everything I do. Even if I poop in the sitting room, he would say the poop is as beautiful as a flower and good enough to decorate the sitting room withπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ He said; ” you should be grateful to God he gave you an intelligent daughter, this is a sign of intelligence and getting what one wants”πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ My mum would go; ” keep spoiling these girls o, keep it up ” Kai! But it’s funny my love for cake and sweet things even got more intense. I love my sugary things. Yes I agree and I love that I have Akpili Ikwuka❀️ Can I have some cake please? #omasjournal #lifeandcircles

image

Leave a Reply

