MARILYN ANONA writes: Self Discovery is everything as it frees you from stress and bondage.

Poshmarilyn

Poshmarilyn

Well, I am telling you this morning that because you hold  Bachelor Degree or a Master Degree doesn’t mean you have discovered who you are. Most so called graduates are confused with life and have found themselves hooked. Some have found out that they do not derive joy and satisfaction (not monetarily) from what they do.

Okay, let’s go down to our developmental stage. I want to use myself as an example now. I had my secondary school education at a Federal Government Girls’ College… After our Junior Secondary School Examination that automatically takes us to the Senior Secondary, I made 11 As in my examination ie what we call “Junior Waec” making me the 3rd Best in my set. It was a very good accomplishment. But you know what happened or is still happening? They automatically push the ones with the best results to the science classes… The ones with the very best results to the science class with “FURTHER MATHEMATICS” which was where I found my self.

Back then it was a prestige to be in the “FURTHER MATHEMATICS” class. I remember once telling my Father that I want to do arts and in his words he said ” Nooooo! arts is for the un intelligent, with this brain you must read sciences and you will be a medical doctor”.

So with this type of mentality, no one cares about your talent, skill and passion. They just feel that because you made an A1 in Chemistry, Biology and Physics you must study sciences. They overlook the A1 you scored in English, Geography, Economics and compel you to do sciences.

This situation is the reason why many people are confused today. This is the reason why many people are disillusioned today. This is the reason why many are depressed today.

Let’s take another example… This time I will use my most adorable sister and role model CHIMAMANDA ADICHIE as an example. She started by reading Medicine but stopped along the line. She went into creative arts instead. Most people would have thought her crazy! ” How can this girl leave Medicine to study arts”. But look where she is today. She took a very bold step having discovered who she is in good time. Most called her stubborn, stupid and blind… But she knew she wasn’t born to be a doctor. I also thank GOD I didn’t end up as a Doctor… Though academically bright, but I will make the worst doctor ever.

This sort of mentality by our parents and the schools have made us waste lots of talents and increased the level of modern day slavery.

Now let’s get back to us, I mean everyone of us. The students, the graduates, the working class… Do you sincerely feel you have discovered yourself because you are in some university or because you have a degree and have put your destiny in a sheet of paper called “CURRICULUM VITAE” roaming the entire country in search of a job, or because you are doing an 8am to 5pm job where you constantly sit at a desk and repeat the same thing day in, day out.

That course, you studied at the university, was it really a choice you made or did you study it because that was the one your score deserved… Why did you go to the university? Did you go to the university because you really wanted to, because you want to be a professional or you went to the university because its almost like a tradition! As you will often hear people say ” I am a graduate”… Okay! Now that “you are a graduate” why are you working in that office? Is it because you really want to or because that’s the only one you got as we know “there are no jobs”.

When you answer these questions, it will help you to know if you have actually discovered who you are.

Many have lost their path because of these issues. You see someone spending 3 years, some 5 years writing jamb over and over again. Only to finally get admission to study a course that he or she will never work with. And we often console ourselves with “at least she is a graduate”.
Not everyone must go to the university. Not going to the university doesn’t make you less. When I was younger, I associated academic achievement and fitting into a group with my self-worth. But I have found out with experiences that, that is not so. Self Discovery is everything as it frees you from stress and bondage.

The journey to self discovery is on going… It doesn’t mean you can’t start now. I am still in the business and each day I try to discover more about me. Do not allow the many lies you were told to deceive you as the real world isn’t that way. My father would often say, You should study well and be sure you have the best grades, that way your financial success is guaranteed “laughs out loud”. Then you do well academically and start feeling that the world owes you. And as a result, you fold your arms, that good grade becomes your life.

I don’t want to go on and on and on so I want to briefly guide you on how to go about this journey of self discovery.

1. I used to think: “If I do this, then I am worthy of that.” This thought is totally wrong and destructive, as it presumes some hierarchy of people’s worth exists. The truth is that everyone is worthy of success and fulfillment. Self Discovery fixes it.

2. Take time to try different things to figure out what you enjoy. Some adults, graduates etc do not know where their talent, skills and natural flair lie. They do not even know what they are passionate about. Without that CV of theirs, they are done for and that why they go for years without a job and keep saying, there are no jobs. Please discover you today. At least some part of you.

3. In order to discover yourself, you must let go of expectations. They impede you sincerely. The thought that without someone taking you by the hand and handing you over to the Director General of a Federal Government Establishment for automatic employment will make you a waste. Stand on your feet and use what is in you.

4. If you must discover yourself, you should worry less about fitting in. Why are you trying to fit in anyway? For me I treasure uniqueness. If you worry so much about fitting in, then you are prone to get missing. Fitting in is what makes lots pf people lose direction and focus. Please aim to stand out not fit in. I remember when I started this blog, lots of people started discouraging me. They told me “gossip sells” no one will be interested in this. And I told everyone of them, ” I have an aim, a vision and a passion and I know where I am headed” so dear, stop trying to fit in. Do you! Be original!

5. Your life isn’t set on stone. You should not be stereotyped. There are so many things you can do and there are lots of opportunities too. Explore yourself and you will be amazed at your DISCOVERY.
I am all about self discovery and values… I am all about the youths… Remember that there are 3 hardest things in life, they are STEEL, DIAMOND and DISCOVERING ONE’S SELF.

You can talk to me today.

Be Enlightened! Be Inspired!! Be Motivated!!!

11 thoughts on “MARILYN ANONA writes: Self Discovery is everything as it frees you from stress and bondage.

  1. Very true and well spoken. Parents had the pride of saying I ve a doctor, lawyer, etc none could actually say I ve a child studying music or agriculture to mention a few. With due respect most of all these big course like medicine, you would expect that upon being accepted by NMA you will have a start up package that compensates your efforts but it’s not so anymore. Then you find those in the social sciences and art world growing excellently in their careers.
    I would disagree too in some areas that without a very sound brain there would not be chances of self discovery.

  2. Well spoken!! One need to discover itself is very important. i know one guy he is a graduate but today he discover his talent . he is doing well in repairing of phones and computers and he packaged business in such way that his friend want to join him on it. Thanks for the article well done Posh.

Leave a Reply

