MARILYN ANONA writes: When you are feeling lonely, it is because something has triggered a memory of that feeling, not because you are in fact, isolated and alone.

POSHMARILYN
POSHMARILYN
Most people are lonely and live a lie. They paint the picture of this super man or woman who has a life full of fun, love and activity but in actual sense are very lonely. They only say those things to make those around them feel they are alright. When they are with colleagues at the office where they work, they talk about a lively social life, full of friends and romantic entanglements. They describe their work life as bustling and filled with clients.
But neither of these stories are true. They do have colleagues, and have friends, but are alone most of the time and their friends are often busy. This means that they could spend hours at work alone during the day, and then head back to their flat to be alone for the evening or even for an entire weekend, “laughs out loud”.
Sometimes the feeling of loneliness overwhelms us even when we are in the company of people. Yes! You can be with a lot of people and still feel very lonely. You can be lonely in a crowd. Sometimes we feel content with being lonely. That’s surprising right? Everyone has suffered loneliness though the degree differs. When you are feeling lonely, it is because something has triggered a memory of that feeling, not because you are in fact, isolated and alone. The brain is designed to pay attention to pain and danger, and that includes painful scary feelings; therefore loneliness get our attention. You might react by withdrawing into yourself, your thoughts, and your lonely feelings and this is not helpful. At its best, anticipation of loneliness might motivate us to reach out and cultivate friendships, which is the healthiest thing to do if you are sad and alone. When you are a child, and your sadness causes you to cry, you may evoke a comforting response from others. If you are an adult, not so much. But then living a lie is not a good thing. How then do we cope with loneliness? Your opinions are very much needed. Be Enlightened! Be Inspired!! Be Motivated!!!

12 comments

  1. I find myself all to my self when am lonely,sometimes secluded in my oblivion world.Sad atimes,just wokeup now feeling lonely.But I try to keep myself busy this dayz when I sense that feeling of loneliness creeping in.I don’t like it but I believe that some how when I finally settle down with my missing rib it will help me.Nice one Oma.Swt dreamz guyz.*wink*

  2. The best thing to do is actually prevent loneliness but if it can’t or couldn’t have been prevented, that’s where the person’s hobbies come in to play and if for some reason your hobbies become “boring” try something new which you never can tell, could add to the list of your hobbies

  3. Most of the times,I do feel like being alone,but most times if am tOo lonely,I make sure I keep myself so busy,maybe watch movies,play music,I will definately keep myself busy.

Leave a Reply

