MARILYN ANONA writes: But when the woman is older, age difference can play a big role in the success of a relationship.

poshmarilyn
poshmarilyn
Marilyn, you are just old fashioned, Marilyn, O please! Marilyn, Times have changed. Marilyn, you are way too opinionated. These are some of the things I am being told when issues like this come up. Yes, I see guys dating older women as improper. I feel the man should be older. That way it looks natural and balanced. But these days, It is very common to see an older woman with a much younger man. It is the standard that men date younger women, but I am yet to accept the idea of a woman dating a man much younger than she is. I hear things like older women are givers instead of takers. As the major reason why some men date women who are older. I also hear that they feel safer because such women cannot break their hearts. Sometimes, the age difference between two lovers makes no difference especially if the man is older than the woman.
But when the woman is older, age difference can play a big role in the success of a relationship. What do you think about a man dating a woman who is obviously older than he is. I will like you to share your opinions. Be Enlightened! Be Inspired!! Be Motivated!!!

23 comments

  1. I see nothing wrong with dating a older woman atleast still in her prime, like mid 30s and 30 if am in my mid 20s in my own point of view. Reasons: they have more experience and are more understanding than the younger once sometimes and i don’t think age should be a barrier in having a successful relationship; as long as there’s understanding, trust, respect that man na man. lol and satisfaction in the relationship.

  2. Well my simple opinion here’s that relationship is all abt understanding and compatibility. I don’t see anything wrong with guy dating/getting married 2 a lady he’s younger than provided its not above 5. Yes its true dt normally it shld be d other way round bt wen u meet sm1dt is meant 4u I don’t thing age diff shld b a barrier here. Hwever, if a guy goes in2 such bcus of wat he’ll gain (selfish interest) then its becomes impolitic 2 support such. Thanks Posh

    • Wow! Another intelligent contribution. As long as its not with an ulterior motive. But the truth is, most times that’s the case. A guy leaves his young woman and goes after the established older woman because of money and will never be proud of the said woman and goes about cheating round the whole place. So what’s the need. I think love and happiness are more important.

  3. Obviously nothing wrong dating an older woman if d age difference isn’t much and to some guys its no big deal at all but I honestly can’t stand such,even a lady still dictates for an older guy not to talk of d lady older than d guy,its not a good sign for any man bt some found it comfortable engaging in such affair,but I can’t just engage myself into such relationship. A guy dating an older woman should just agree he’s into sugar mummy or babe things.

  4. I love dating older women , because unlike the younger women that try to act older, the older women try to act younger , am not trying to sound like a consequentialist but at the end of the day when men go for younger women ,we expect them to be young in everything maybe except in the way she reason , but these days every young girl wants to act like a lady , girls are acting older than age. At the end of the day they you start getting the attitude that made you decide not to date somebody in your age bracket ______ I know I will never marry anybody older than me , but right now that am getting a life for myself, older women are the best companions ever , 🙂

  5. I love dating older women , because unlike the younger women that try to act older, the older women try to act younger , am not trying to sound like a consequentialist but at the end of the day when men go for younger women ,we expect them to be young in everything maybe except in the way she reason , but these days every young girl wants to act like a lady , girls are acting older than age. At the end of the day they you start getting the attitude that made you decide not to date somebody in your age bracket ______ I know I will never marry anybody older than me , but right now that am getting a life for myself, older women are the best companions ever , 😀

    • Hehe Enekem. Funny you! That sounds true though. I mean the part where you said young girls act older. I sort of fall into that category. Now you can date them but you can’t marry them. Heya

  6. When a guy dates a woman who is obviously older than him there are bound to be challenges in the relationship that will bother around the age difference. It may end up being a closet kind of relationship because either the guy is not proud to introduce his “aunty” to his friends as his girlfriend or she won’t be comfortable bringing her “kid brother” into her own circle of friends. In our society people are yet to fully accept it as normal and this further deepens the challenges this kind of relationship faces. For me, I can’t date an older woman simply because I think things work out better when the guy is older.

  7. Hmmmm! @ Posh always @ it again,well I see nothing wrong with older women dating a younger guys,if there ȋ̝̊̅§ a mutual understanding btw the both parties,they love and respect each other,age should not be a barrier. Love conquers everything,including age *wink*. Bravo my lady.

  8. They could be date-able if the age difference isn’t that much (say 2-5 yrs) but when it’s like 10-20 yrs, I don’t think that’s acceptable. Love comes in all forms though, I’m not to judge.

  9. I can’t see anything wrong in dating older women.It’s a matter of choice.Personally am not attracted to ladies my age.Dated a lady that’s was a year older than once,but she didn’t know that she was older than me then sha.One of my aunt is 9years older than her husband,@Enekemgreg:You are on point!@Jovi Jova:You got it!@Uche:U know it all.@Ugochukwu:Don’t get u at all.Nice one Oma.Do have a nice day guys.

  10. Relationship is all about understanding,respect and trust. Age is just a number and should not be a barrier in a relationship.

    • Nice Opinion. I don’t agree with that saying that age is just a number. Due to the biological processes the woman undergoes, she tends to. Age quicker. A woman having a relationship with a man she is way older than is not going to be at rest. She will always feel insecure and the truth is, most of these guys don’t actually fall in love with these women. They follow them because of the money involved and are hardly proud to introduce them. The woman becomes the man and the man looks more or less like a gigolo. Adam was created before Eve. Personally, my man should give me at least four years. That way, I feel like he is my hero. And look up to him. Thanks for your contribution.

Leave a Reply

