MARILYN ANONA writes: “There are three hardest things in life, and they are steel, diamond and realizing one’s self”.

POSHMARILYN

POSHMARILYN

When I asked a number of people what their new year resolutions were, they all said different things but one person said something I picked on… He said his new year resolution is to become more of him. I told him that was very interesting, but asked him who he is. It was a funny question to him, but I had a very valid reason to ask. The reason is simple… If you don’t know who you are, then you can’t become more of you. Going through my about page, you will discover that most of the things I wrote centred on self discovery which is directly linked to an individual’s core values. A popular quote says that “there are three hardest things in life, and they are steel, diamond and realizing one’s self”. Yes! “Realizing one’s self”. I have come to realize that most people need a sense of direction and purpose in life as most hardly understand or know themselves even till death leading to waste of human resources and potentials. I became so worried few months ago when I asked a group of people their core values and discovered most didn’t know. If you don’t know your core values, it means you don’t know who you are. So if asked “WHO ARE YOU?” Can you give an answer or answers with ease? Have you for a second ever wondered who you really are? Or do you just assume you know yourself when you don’t. Have you discovered your purpose and reason for existence? Do you know your core values? We begin to find and become ourselves when we notice and are able to pin point the things that interest us and the trait that makes us do the things we do. I discovered who I am after going through a lot of mess, failure, mistakes, disappointments, extensive reading, setbacks, public embarrassment, conversations with my best friends, losing people I thought I could not live without, and of course betrayals.
You have to make mistakes to find out who you are and who you are not. You take the action, you don’t think your way into becoming yourself. So its time to come awake. I pray that your awakening comes with ease, grace, and stamina when the going gets hard. To love yourself as you are is a miracle, and to seek yourself is to have found yourself, for now. And now is all we have. Fulfillment in life starts with self discovery. Self discovery makes you have a direction and focus. So who are you? How do you become the person you were meant to be? Where do you start? Let’s interact with one another and share our views. Be Enlightened! Be Inspired!! Be Motivated!!!

28 thoughts on “MARILYN ANONA writes: “There are three hardest things in life, and they are steel, diamond and realizing one’s self”.

  1. Your really inspiring! Resolutions are said earlier a year but putting it into actions is d real key. Any way I wish to get a wife this year and settle down

  2. Resolutions?? Who r u?? Difficult but funny questions, my resolutions r always d same yearly.. Getting closer to my God, always be a helper and looking ƒσя challenges that will make me a much better person.. As ƒσя who am i.. Hmmm….well am gonna say am me, the guy that always want to make a difference.. Touch pple’s live positively…
    Nice topic posh.. Keep d fire burning

  3. Αℓℓ ℓ̊ can say abt мє is an still evolving απϑ still on †нε journey σƒ self discovery. ℓ̊ believe ² really achieve discovery one has ² be honest abt who dey αrε ² der self. Interesting topic ☑

    • Very correct Ikenga. A very important issue about self diiscovery is being true to one’s self and not being easily carried away by trend or association. Not being in a hurry. Not being too shallow. Not wanting to take the easy way out at all times. Thanks dear. Have a beautiful day.

  4. Yes we discover out who we are as a result of mistakes nd betrayals etc… And learning from all our odd behaviors and attitude is a process of self discovery and a means of setting our goal nd core values

  5. To be more of one’s self you must first realize who you are. To realize who you are you have to be absolutely honest to yourself. Experiences, victories and failures in the journey of life also help us to discover/shape who we are. But the underlying thing about self discovery is honesty to self.
    Nice post PoshMarilyn. Keep ’em coming. God bless you more in 2014.

  6. Many years ago, I ran into an old friend, he was so excited to tell me he was in medical school, he asked me what I was doing doing then, n I told him I was trying to discover myself, d mockery I got from him revealed to me how much people have allowed themselves to be cut up in the rat race n hve misplaced their priorities. The very first step to d fulfilment of purpose is to discover you, and I strongly believe that d root of all the crisis of the human race lies in our identity crisis, our inability to know who we are. Success in life is, discovering n becoming you. Thank u friend for coming up with ds.

    • You see that’s the problem we have especially in a continent like Africa where we think that the way out of Poverty is through western education. This mentality has created a lot of problems. People don’t know who they are and go on with life so blind. Many go to the university and study what they should not study. They even sometimes know within them that the course they are studying aint their calling but you hear them say “Abeg, any course joor! Ijust want to be a graduate” how sad. The guy that laughed at you because you told him you were still trying to discover yourself, may even be in the wrong field. Thanks Ben for your nice contribution and please visit http://www.poshmarilyn.wordpress.com more often.

      • truth is I only felt sorry for him,as of that point in time in my life, I’ve already known d importance of self discovery, maybe cos I was already on what I wud describe as a wrong path for me,n already feeling frustrated, I was in skul den, studying d wrong. course 4 me, battling wit figures(I’m sure some1 understands) but I’m so happy I discovered me early, n will like to help some1 do. Ds are d ways to:PRAYER:I do not expect everyone to buy ds idea, but pls u dnt hve to fight it, at a point in time in my life I never knw I will be selling ds idea of praying to u. It is simply comunication btwn God n man, it’s real. POTENTIAL: it simply means untapped resources,to knw your calling, check your gifts, n to knw your gifts check your calling, God will never call you to do Something he has not gifted u to do. We also hve INTEREST, PAST EXPERIENCES, TEMPRAMENT, e.t.c

  7. Wow… This is genuis almost like u picked the
    brains of every writer that has ever lifted d pen on
    a sheet of paper, no 2nd guessing beyond
    reasonable doubt we most times define who we
    fink we are by where we re at d moment or by d
    fings we’ve achieved but ur writings gave another
    conceptual analysis of who and what we are and
    how to become who we are even in times of
    despair n desolation.. Well said Marilyn, I give my
    thumbs up for U, this is a masterpiece written In
    gold coated pen…. Its hotsome

  8. Wow… This is genuis almost like u picked the
    brains of every writer that has ever lifted d pen on
    a sheet of paper, no 2nd guessing beyond
    reasonable doubt we most times define who we
    fink we are by where we re at d moment or by d
    fings we’ve achieved but ur writings gave another
    conceptual analysis of who and what we are and
    how to become who we are even in times of
    despair n desolation.. Well said Marilyn, I give my
    thumbs up for U, this is a masterpiece written In
    gold coated pen…. couldnt ave been written any better

  9. “Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself.” – George Bernard Shaw. when you don’t know what you were designed to be, other would determine you. most times we are tempted to be what our friends determine and wants us to be instead of allowing who we are determine who our would be. Like Carl Sagan puts it “When you make the finding yourself – even if you’re the last person on Earth to see the light – you’ll never forget it.”

Leave a Reply

